Whitko Community Schools Signs Four County Resolution

Encourages Local Residents to Sign Also

WARSAW, IN -- On Tuesday, March 23rd, Whitko Community Schools' leadership attended a by invitation only event hosted at Warsaw High School. The goal of the event was to discuss and encourage community leaders and members to adopt resolutions in support of public schools. Whitko leadership is sharing the resolution with local residents and encouraging them to also sign the resolution. The resolution asks both House and Senate members to oppose House Bill 1005 and Senate Bills 1421 and 413.

A copy of Whitko Community Schools' resolution entitled, "Declaration to Indiana Legislators and Governor Eric J. Holcomb" was previously approved during the February 18th School Board Meeting. Whitko has shared on their website and social media the resolution and is inviting their residents to also sign it. The resolution begins: "We, the undersigned, believe that the dramatic expansion of vouchers and creation of ESAs at this time will be harmful to our local public schools and our local communities." The document requests information from those signing which includes: email address, name, city, county, and role within the community.

Whitko School Board President, Lynn Studebaker shared the following about the March 23rd event, "Businesses and community leaders stood in solidarity with schools in Kosciusko, Elkhart, St. Joseph and Marshall Counties in opposition to funding ESA accounts."

Those wishing to sign the resolution can visit Whitko.org or find it on Whitko's Facebook Page.

Photo 1: Wishbone Medical CEO Nick Deeter speaks on behalf of area employers in support of our local schools, Wishbone also has a partnership with Whitko through the Whitko Career Academy.

Photo 2: Whitko Interim Superintendent, Steve Darnell, Whitley County Community Foundation member and Former Senator Gary Dillon, and Whitko School Board President Lynn Studebaker were in attendance at the event.